top of page
  • Foto do escritorPigeon

Artist Interview: FRANK JOSHUA



1. Hey Frank, super nice to have the chance to chat with you! First and foremost what got you into music?

Good to meet you too! There wasn’t that much music at home, so it wasn’t until I started listening to music with friends that it sort of exploded for me. Then when I was about 14 my friends and I set up a sound system and it turned out we were pretty good at getting a room jumping. I ended up as the DJ and music just kind of took over from then on.


2. What are you most proud of?

I’d have to say the release of my debut album, Sense Life. It’s been a long time in the making and I’m super proud of the way it’s turned out as a complete piece of work.


3. Who would you most like to collaborate with?

That’s easy. Stevie Wonder! Who wouldn’t? Prince or David Bowie would have been cool. And I’ve always had a soft spot for Paddy McAloon of Prefab Sprout. All of them in the realms of fantasy, one way or another, of course.


4. What would you be doing right now, if it wasn’t for your music career?

My first job was as a baker so probably that.


5. What’s the best decade for music?

I have a thing for the 80s. You're supposed to say the 60s I guess, but every time I hear an 80s track it turns my head, so I guess that must mean something.


6. What’s your favorite album from the 2010’s?

There’s lots to choose from but the one comes to mind is Random Access Memories. I like the feel of it as a complete work. You’ve got Get Lucky as well as Touch and there’s a narrative that holds it together. That’s not a guilty pleasure by the way. I don’t believe in such things. If it’s a musical pleasure, there’s no need to feel guilty.


7. What is it about music that makes you feel passionate?

That it can bring out your passion. Music affects us much more deeply than seems reasonable. All emotions can be provoked and that’s a beautiful thing.


8. What memorable responses have you had to your work?

I’m so happy that there’s a quite few to choose from. Take your pick form the review (below) but I’m terribly flattered by being likened vocally to George Michael. And one reviewer said that they thought I’d clearly done my ‘10,000 hours’, which made me feel quite warm.


“A timeless universe of melodic pop” - Rock Era Magazine

“So hooky and addictive it's crazy” - Sound Won’t Stop

“Beautiful and timeless” - Pop Magazine

“Sophisticated, opinionated, and authentic” - Making a Scene

“emotion and quality songwriting throughout” - Obscure Sound

“Beautiful and captivating” - The Sounds Won’t Stop


9. What is your creative process like?

It usually starts with a guitar, some chords and a lyric/melody thing that just pops into my head. Then the real work has to begin. And for me, it needs to be a complete song before the production begins.


10. How do you structure your day?

With a list. Lists are the secret to life. If you’re disciplined with your lists, you tend to have less regrets


The Pigeon added the new single, "Sense Life" to his Weekly Gems playlist on Spotify. You can check out the released music below. If you like what you hear, make sure to follow along so you can stay on top of future releases.



Interview by The Pigeon

Discovered via http://musosoup.com

This coverage was created via Musosoup





bottom of page